The Dark Tower: And Other Stories by CS Lewis [REVIEW]

SYNOPSIS

From C.S. Lewis—the great British writer, scholar, lay theologian, broadcaster, Christian apologist, and author of Mere Christianity, The Screwtape Letters, The Great Divorce, The Chronicles of Narnia, and many other beloved classics—comes a collection of his dazzling short fiction.

This collection of futuristic fiction includes a breathtaking science fiction story written early in his career in which Cambridge intellectuals witness the breach of space-time through a chronoscope—a telescope that looks not just into another world, but into another time.

As powerful, inventive, and profound as his theological and philosophical works, The Dark Tower reveals another side of Lewis’s creative mind and his longtime fascination with reality and spirituality. It is ideal reading for fans of J. R. R. Tolkien, Lewis’s longtime friend and colleague.

REVIEW

Do you read the introduction or preface when you start a book? I’ll admit, I usually only skim this section of a book. After all, we want to get to the meat of the book, who needs all that “fluff ” a the beginning? Right? However, I’m glad I didn’t skip anything in this book, otherwise I most likely would have been very confused. Lesson learned.

The Dark Tower

Humans are facinated with the concept of time travel. Is it possible? What time and place would I visit? What happens if I change the past?

Step inside Lewis’ imagination…but beware, thus is an unfinished story! You’ll have to let your imagination fill in the gaps and come to your own conclusions. 😉

The Man Born Blind

On it’s surface this is a story of how a man who was born blind learns to navigate the world after he has surgery that gives him sight. However, it is really an allegory about light and dark.

The Shoddy Lands

I can only describe this as a daydream brought on by boring conversation, but intriguing nonetheless.

Ministering Angels

You have six months left of a three year assignment on Mars an then guests arrive. What could go wrong? What could go right?

You’ll have to read it for yourself to find out.

Forms of Things Unknown

Would you go to the moon if those who went on the last three missions disappeared?

After Ten Years

Helen of Troy, a Trojan Horse, Zeus & a variety of sci-fi tales are woven together in a story that immediately pulls the reader in and forces one to believe that it’s all true.

This is another unfinished work, but entertaining nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s