The Journey of Hope (Fernandina Beach Series Books 1-6) by Hayley Summers


Where do you go when your life falls apart?

After her decades-long loveless marriage to an eccentric musician ends with him in bed with another woman, Hope Johnson is left washed up and tired of life. Fighting through a bitter divorce battle, she struggles to re-invent herself and fill the void left by her crumbling life.

But when her cousin appears on her doorstep to whisk her off to her aunt’s surprise wedding – whether she likes it or not – Hope is forced to come face-to-face with her deepest beliefs about family, friendship, and what love truly means. As she grows ever closer to her eclectic aunt, Hope begins to unravel the emotions that she buried deep in her psyche – and along the way, she’ll discover shocking new things about her family that will change the way she sees them forever.

After her aunt falls mysteriously ill, Hope must juggle the task of caring for the woman who has become her second mother with rediscovering her own long-lost dreams and ambitions. And when a dashing suitor steps into her life, Hope will have to decide if she’s really willing to risk giving love another shot…

The Journey of Hope is a fun and cozy contemporary women’s fiction series that explores universal themes of love, relationships, and the true meaning of family.


Each “book” is only about 50 pages long. Therefore, I would consider it a serial instead of a book series.  That being said, my review of each “book” is below.

BOOK 1 – This first installment has some timeline issues but I am enjoying the characters and I “need to” know what secrets these people are hiding.

BOOK 2 – The second installment does continue the story, sort of.  There is also more than one part of the storyline that seem to be forgotten entirely.  When I encountered spelling or grammar mistakes, I realized the importance of a professional editor.

When will I have answers to my questions?

BOOK 3 – This third “book” added characters and a couple of twists but it still feels disjointed & the time-line is wonky.

BOOK 4 – Things are starting to get interesting!

BOOK 5 – The writing has improved but there are still some spelling & grammatical errors.

However, I do enjoy the cliffhangers

BOOK 6 – The questions are answered & the writing is much better.

I received this series free from the author as part of her ARC (Advanced Review Copy) Team.  My only obligation is to write a fair and honest review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s